Message In A Box - The Police

[Updated: August 29, 2012]

Message In A Box - The Police

Title:Message In A Box
Label:A&M Records
Catalogue number:-
Release date:1993
Tracks: disc 1:
  1. Fall Out
  2. Nothing Acheiving
  3. Dead End Job
  4. Next To You
  5. So Lonely
  6. Roxanne
  7. Hole In My Life
  8. Peanuts
  9. Can't Stand Losing You
  10. Truth Hits Everybody
  11. Born In The 50's
  12. Be My Girl-Sally
  13. Masoko Tanga
  14. Landlord (live)
  15. Next To You (live)
  16. Landlord
  17. Message In A Bottle
  18. Reggatta De Blanc
  19. It's Alright For You
  20. Bring On The Night
  21. Deathwish
disc 2:
  1. Walking On The Moon
  2. On Any Other Day
  3. The Bed's Too Big Without You
  4. Contact
  5. Does Everyone Stare
  6. No Time This Time
  7. Visions Of The Night
  8. The Bed's Too Big Without You (mono)
  9. Truth Hits Everybody (live)
  10. Friends
  11. Don't Stand So Close To Me
  12. Driven To Tears
  13. When The World Is Running DownYou Make The Best Of What's Still Around
  14. Canary In A Coalmine
  15. Voices Inside My Head
  16. Bombs Away
  17. De Do Do Do, De Da Da Da
  18. Behind My Camel
  19. Man In A Suitcase
  20. Shadows In The Rain
  21. The Other Way Of Stopping
disc 3:
  1. A Sermon
  2. Driven To Tears (live)
  3. Shambelle
  4. Spirits In The Material World
  5. Every Little Thing She Does Is Magic
  6. Invisible Sun
  7. Hungry For You (J'aurais toj ours faim de toi)
  8. Demolition Man
  9. Too Much Information
  10. Rehumanize Yourself
  11. One World (Not Three)
  12. Omegaman
  13. Secret Journey
  14. Darkness
  15. Flexible Strategies
  16. Low Life
  17. How Stupid Mr Bates
  18. A Kind Of Loving
disc 4:
  1. Synchronicity I
  2. Walking In Your Footsteps
  3. O My God
  4. Mother
  5. Miss Gradenko
  6. Synchronicity II
  7. Every Breath You Take
  8. King Of Pain
  9. Wrapped Around Your Finger
  10. Tea In The Sahara
  11. Murder By Numbers
  12. Man In A Suitcase (live)
  13. Someone To Talk To
  14. Message In A Bottle (live)
  15. I Burn For You
  16. Once Upon A Daydream
  17. Tea In The Sahara (live)
  18. Don't Stand So Close To Me '86
Remarks:More details about the livetracks on this release:

Landlord (live) and Next To You (live) - recorded in New York City on 04-04-1979
Truth Hits Everybody (live) - recorded in Boston on 27-11-1979
Driven To Tears (live) - recorded in Frejus on 28-08-1980
Man In The Suitcase (live) - recorded in Los Angeles on 16-01-1981
Message In A Bottle (live) - recorded in Miami on 26-10-1979
Tea In The Sahara (live) - recorded in Atlanta on 03-11-1983

Although the sleeve of the boxset claims that it contains "everything The Police released", it still misses some tracks:
De Do Do Do De Da Da Da (Spanish version)
De Do Do Do De Da Da Da (Japanese version)
Truth Hits Everybody (remix)
Don't Stand So Close To Me (live; 1983)
Roxanne (backing track)
Every Breath You Take (backing track)
De Do Do Do De Da Da Da (1986) (as released on Every Breath You Take - The Classics (DTS Digital Surround Edition))

On October 23, 2006 this item was rereleased in a deluxe 28" x 28" hard-back complete with a 100-page booklet (equal to the original 1993 release) in the UK.

[Home] [What's new] [Latest news] [My collection] [Concert Archive] [Discography] [The Police bootlegs] [Sting bootlegs] [Interviews & articles] [Links] [Photos]

Rogier's Police Page
Rogier van der Gugten, Utrecht, 2002